The story behind “sales”

Every time I go for grocery shopping, I see sales in the supermarket, such as buy 1 get 1 FREE. Yes, with the big letter on “FREE”. That “FREE” attracted me once or my friends couple times, especially they put that banner at the entrance.

When I checked out at the supermarket, I discover that my cart usually full with products that are mostly on sales, and things that are not on my shopping list. Not just because I bought a lot, but the sales influence my decision on purchasing goods. If you were the consumer like me, you would probably get as much as you want with the same or lower price. Hey, that saves you and I a lot of money that could be used on somewhere else.

This strategy is being used everyday at anywhere. But one place that is using it for everyday, and the company is well known to anyone, Wal-Mart. The goal of Wal-Mart claims that they saved their customer’s money as much as they could. However, Wal-Mart is actually making more money with the “sale” strategy than any other sellers.

Superficially, with these marketing strategies, distributors are cutting cost and customers are taking advantages and enjoying the discount. However, underneath, supermarkets are making more profit, and sales because of these ‘discount’ provided to customers. The sign and slogan of Buy 1 get 1 free, 2 for $10, etc, influencing consumer behavior when customers shop in supermarket, and somehow, not really realize that the behavior is being affected

I always heard people say I bought more than I want, and most of the things are not needed, the surplus food end up wasting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

