Disney has done it again

Disney Logo

Let me first start off by saying that I love all things Disney: the parks, the merchandise, and of course the movies. I think there are a lot of people that feel the same as me, and I’m going to go out on a limb and say that almost everyone in the world has heard of Disney. This is because Disney knows how to brand themselves and the company has gotten to the point where they barely have to do anything to share their next great thing.

frozen-disney-logo

In November, Disney released their newest animated movie Frozen. This movie was hugely successful, and has only gotten more popular. It is the highest grossing animated Disney movie of all time and has won awards already. Pre-Release, Disney marketed this movie very well. They released the movie slowly with several different types of trailers, and they waited a while to release a preview that gave consumers an idea of the movie’s plot. The characters are voiced by some very well known celebrities who bring power house vocals to the songs, including Idina Menzel who starred in the Broadway musical Wicked and Josh Gad from Book of Mormon. By having a strong soundtrack, the movie opened up an entirely different area for success and it has reached number 1 on Billboard’s Album chart (knocking Beyonce out her seat at #1, I might add).

But it was after the movie’s release that the marketing really kicked in. Word of mouth is an extremely useful marketing technique and all Disney had to do was put out a great product. I have not stopped seeing and hearing things about Frozen since it’s release, and if I hadn’t already seen it I would feel compelled to (and since I have seen the movie, it just makes me want to watch it over and over!). Everywhere I go on the internet, whether I go on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook, Vine, Buzzfeed, Tumblr (I could go on, and on and on) I see something about Frozen.  I hear people talking about it or singing the songs. Frozen is everywhere. There has been everything from covers of the spectacular songs in the movie to jokes about the crazy winter weather in the U.S. involving frozen. This movie has taken off, and I don’t think it’s going anywhere anytime soon. Let the (Frozen) storm rage on. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

