“Dumb Phones” Are Becoming Obsolete

I’m one of the few people left on this planet who still uses a “dumb phone,” or a phone that does not have a data or internet plan. This is partly because I don’t want to pay the $30/month for the data plan, and partly because I refuse to become one of those people who cannot go 30 seconds without being on their phone.                                                                    phone date

Now, most people these days do not need to be persuaded into buying an iPhone that comes with a data plan and a million features. But cell phone companies are doing a damn good job at persuading us “stupid phone” users. When I went to the Verizon store for my upgrade, I asked about phones that did not require data plans. I was then directed to a display of 3 phones to choose from, all which would cost more than a hundred dollars for the upgrade. The salespeople could not not seem to understand why I didn’t want to buy a Smartphone. I was really tempted to buy one of the older iPhones that I could basically get for free, rather than one of the data-less phones that simply makes phone calls and sends text messages. Despite this temptation, I knew in the long run it would cost a lot more money for me to get the free iPhone and subscribe to a data plan.                                                                                          dumbphone

One thing we can all be sure of is that technology moves fast, and it will never stop. If we are not influenced by others to upgrade to the newest and latest technologies, companies will basically force us to do so, making it more expensive for us to stick to older technologies that do not constantly create more revenue. For now, I will stick to my dumb phone, but I’m not sure how long that will be an option.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

