What’s on your bucket list?

What’s on your bucket list?

For me, that answer was always simple. I want to travel the world. But what a broad topic that has become. Where would I even start? What would I go see first? Being a Hospitality major, traveling has always been a huge interest of mine. I would search the internet for “TOP PLACES TO TRAVEL” or “PLACES TO VISIT BEFORE YOU DIE“. I would attempt to make a list but it would turn out to be as long as a novel. Quite a few years back I stumbled upon a website called Buzzfeed. It had lists after lists of places to visit, but also consisted of gorgeous pictures that made you want to hop on a plane that very moment. Without even realizing how great a marketing tool this was, I was soon finding myself researching these places they have posted, related searches, and how I would get there (hotels and planes). I was looking up information about the country and other cool places to travel there. These destination points were indirectly marketed through another carrier that found its way to me. What a simple concept, that for me has turned into an obsession (maybe not that dramatic).

I have just touched the tip of the iceberg with my traveling adventures but have made it to 16 states including Washington DC. I have been to 9 different countries (not including the US or airport layovers) and countless cities within them. Every time I go somewhere new I write it down and check to see if it was on one of the Buzzfeed lists. A few include:

#7 Maltese Island of Gozo from the 15 majestic underwater sitesgrid-cell-32607-1408635432-13_opt                                                                                                                 #1 Burano Italy, #9 Wengen Switzerland from the 19 truly charming places

enhanced-buzz-wide-8540-1392752883-14_opt   original-14180-1392845180-10_opt

#11 Tree house point in Washington from 16 cool hotels

grid-cell-1760-1390968090-10_opt

What Next?

Marketing and traveling go together like peanut butter and jelly. Sometimes it can be very subtle. Examples include; visiting the Shire in New Zealand where the Lord of the Rings was filmed. An advertisement for Disney parks and resorts in Florida, California, France, Tokyo, and Hong Kong.  A destination honeymoon in the Maldives. Oktoberfest in Munich, Germany. Going to London to visit platform 9 3/4, the Sherlock Holmes museum, or walking across abbey road like The Beatles. Many places don’t even need to be marketed as much for they are already widely known throughout the world. We don’t even realize we are being marketed to. How often do we look up places to visit or book hotels, or simply say “I want to go there one day”. That is all done through marketing. It is all around us and the demand is increasing. If you are a travel enthusiast like me, you will keep searching for the next interesting place to travel.

Now if you excuse me I need to go plan my next vacation!!!

Where have you gone? 

http://www.buzzfeed.com/alejandroalba/majestic-underwater-sites-you-need-to-see-before-you-die#38utsm3 

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ariellecalderon/surreal-places-to-visit-before-you-die#38utsm3

http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelzarrell/the-most-charming-places-in-the-world#38utsm3

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ariellecalderon/surreal-places-you-wont-believe-actually-exist#38utsm3

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mackenziekruvant/unique-amazing-hotels#38utsm3

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

