Kale and The Superfood Market

In light of a number of studies conducted over the last decade or so regarding the relatively poor eating habits of American, we as a society are making more health-conscious decisions on a daily basis. Consequently, a number of healthy “superfoods” have gained popularity in recent years. From coconut milk to quinoa, more of these odd, healthy products have found a home in grocery stores nationwide. Arguably the most popular of these supposed “superfoods” is kale, a leafy green vegetable similar in structure to spinach. For years, kale could most commonly be found on fruit trays and cheese and cracker platters, serving simply as a decorative piece. The only place where kale could be found in a typical diet was in third world countries, where it was available and provided a lot of nutritional benefits to thousands of malnourished individuals.

Flash forward to today. Kale is an ever-growing food phenomenon that has taken health enthusiasts and made them unofficial spokespeople for it [kale]. It was not until last year that I tried steamed kale in the dining commons, where I was skeptical to say the least. Much to my surprise, it did not taste half bad and I knew it was incredibly healthy.

Nevertheless, I thought nothing of it until I was working an event this summer with a number of different food vendors, one of whom was marketing flavored kale chips. I tried the three sample flavors (Mango Habanero, Zesty Nacho, and Texas Barbecue) that she had with her, and they were all delicious. I was intrigued by the product and the company she was working for, appropriately named Rhythm Superfoods. She even gave me a couple of bags to take home because I mentioned that I wanted my friends to try them.

I looked for the chips the next couple of times I went grocery shopping, but had no luck finding the chips so I went on the company’s website and sent an email to the head of marketing, wondering where I might be able to get some of the chips. She responded quickly and gave me a number of stores to try. Additionally, she was excited that I enjoyed the chips and shared them with my friends, so she asked for my address so that she could send me a package of Rhythm Superfoods “swag”. I got the package in the mail later that week containing a couple bags of kale chips, a few coupons for more chips, a shirt, and a hat. For a small company trying to grow their brand awareness, this was an incredibly smart thing for them to do. Although I am sure not many people contact them in the way that I did, acquiring (and keeping) loyal customers who can use word of mouth marketing to help promote a product should be of great importance to grassroots companies like Rhythm Superfoods.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

