To McDonald’s and Back Again, a Poor College Student’s Tale

I have to say that nothing tastes better than two all-beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun, especially if there are some of the best fries in the world on the side.  McDonald’s has always had some stellar ads and slogans in my opinion, and they have the food to back it up.  The following ad really caught my attention though:

 McD

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but when I saw these pictures on this ad, only one word came to mind, “McDonald’s”.  This is probably one of the most non in your face ads I have ever seen and yet, I knew exactly what it was trying to market without even noticing the tiny golden arches in the corner at first.

What other fast food restaurant has their fries in a red container?  I know I sure can’t think of one besides my Mickey D’s.

There are no words, no actual pictures of the products, just a simple drawing of McDonald’s biggest six items – Big Mac, fries, sundae, Fillet-o-Fish, Chicken Nuggets and a cheeseburger. They took the products everyone loves and turned them into icons.  It is amazing how the simplest things can have the most impact sometimes.

It is a pretty great idea, in my opinion, to do these simple icons.  If people see these simple sketches and are told that they are representing McDonald’s foods, then even when they see another similar drawing, they will straight away think of and associate it with the McDonald’s franchise.

It is clear to me that after doing it for so many years; they know how to market their brand very well.   If McDonald’s stays on the path it is going, they will be around for a long time and I hope they will. Because even if it isn’t the best decision for my future health, I’m still ba-da-ba-ba-ba lovin’ it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

