Under Armour Launches I WILL WHAT I WANT Campaign to Empower Women Athletes

In July, Under Armour launched their I WILL WHAT I WANT campaign which features different female athletes who have struggled, fought, and broken barriers to get where they are. This is their most expansive woman’s marketing campaign to date. Athletes include Lindsey Vonn, Kelley O’Hara, Misty Copeland, Sloane Stephens, Brianna Cope, and most recently Gisele Bundchen. With this campaign, Under Armour hopes to gain more female customers by empowering them.

In the first commercial that was released mid-summer, Misty Copeland- the second African American soloist in American Ballet Theater, is featured dancing in Under Armour apparel while a young girl is reading a rejection letter from a ballet school. Throughout her life, Misty was told that she was too short and full figured to ever become a professional dancer. As a viewer, I am empowered by Misty’s success story, which is exactly what Under Armour wants. She was told she could not do something and she proved everyone that ever doubted her wrong. (while sporting Under Armour athletic apparel) Under Armour wants its consumers to see and experience the connection between their clothing and these strong, hardworking, and independent woman.

More Recently, Under Armour released a commercial featuring Giselle Bundchen. A new and “less-polished” side of the supermodel is seen while she is filmed kicking and punching a heavy bag while positive and negative comments from the public appear all around her. The creative director says: “The campaign shows all the contradicting opinions she is constantly exposed to and the focus and determination it takes to tune out the noise and will what she wants.”

Under Armour has never been my first choice when it comes to athletic apparel and after working at Nike for a couple years I would consider myself a loyal Nike customer. However I do think that this gender-specific campaign will help Under Armour stand out among its main competitors like Nike and Lululemon. I am excited to see whats next for the I WILL WHAT I WANT campaign.

Under Armour has never been my first choice when it comes to athletic apparel and after working at Nike for a couple years I would consider myself a loyal Nike customer. However I do think that this gender-specific campaign will help Under Armour stand out among its main competitors like Nike and Lululemon. I am excited to see whats next for the I WILL WHAT I WANT campaign.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment/Reply

